500 Madness

Thread: Driving for free off of my solar panels

Thanks

Driving for free off of my solar panels

Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie and I just wanted to introduce myself.

Three years ago we installed solar panels and purchased only the amount we needed to cover our electric use at the time. A year later, I leased Marcello la Mia Mini Machina Piccola (my wonderful FIAT 500e). I thought we would need to buy at least one more panel for the house, but that has not been necessary.

My "true-up" month is July and every year, SDGE owes me money instead of the reverse, so I clearly can drive Marcello for free!

But what I love most is not spilling gas on myself or my fingers at the filling station!

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by lauriejeanne View Post
    Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie and I just wanted to introduce myself.

Three years ago we installed solar panels and purchased only the amount we needed to cover our electric use at the time. A year later, I leased Marcello la Mia Mini Machina Piccola (my wonderful FIAT 500e). I thought we would need to buy at least one more panel for the house, but that has not been necessary.

My "true-up" month is July and every year, SDGE owes me money instead of the reverse, so I clearly can drive Marcello for free!

But what I love most is not spilling gas on myself or my fingers at the filling station!
    I'm hoping the same is true

I recently installed Solar PV on my house...I purchased the system based on prior usage before and during the remodeling....Actually I installed a 2kw smaller system than was recommended (12.5kw vs 14.5kw)....I had ALL new wiring, outlets, switches, fans installed (replaced old aluminum wiring), All New LED lighting including new fixtures , 2 New Energy Efficient AC units, a GE Hybrid Hot Water Heater and Variable Speed Pool Pump....

When I moved in after the remodel (before solar) I still felt my usage was high....I never lived in the house before the remodel.....