PDA

View Full Version : Any "Novice" Manual Transmission drivers / Abarth Owners? What do you think?

adamhoz
01-29-2013, 05:18 PM
Hi All,

I've really been liking the Fiats, and always had an eye on the Abarth. My coworker has a 500c which I've been given the keys to drive around and have really had fun with it. I have limited experience driving manual, but have really nailed it and LOVE the fiats.

Are there any novice / new manual drivers that have gotten an abarth? How is it for a beginner / novice?
How are the costs associated with it? (besides better gas mileage than my 15mpg i get now haha)
Maintenance issues? Does it cost an arm and a leg to get the oil changed?

Any input would be appreciated! Im going for a test drive this weekend -

Thanks! :)
Adam

Jjm4life
01-29-2013, 05:21 PM
its a very light and fairly direct transmission. clutch is light as well. shouldn't be an issue as long as you have a basic understanding of operating a manual transmission.

djhace
01-29-2013, 05:35 PM
hi adamhoz,
i have driven manual before but it was years ago, until now. i would say it's fairly easy. hard part is reveres gear. also going from 5th to 4th. but it getting easier as you get used to it.
it range from 50 to 100 bucks, depending on dealer. though, it's not due every 3k. like on my honda. so that's good.

William M Jacocks Jr
01-29-2013, 07:23 PM
You should try driving my 1994 F-350 dually 5 speed. LOL, makes my 500 Abarth shifting feel like a breeze.

KhalilWilliams
01-29-2013, 08:51 PM
Hi All,

I've really been liking the Fiats, and always had an eye on the Abarth. My coworker has a 500c which I've been given the keys to drive around and have really had fun with it. I have limited experience driving manual, but have really nailed it and LOVE the fiats.

Are there any novice / new manual drivers that have gotten an abarth? How is it for a beginner / novice?
How are the costs associated with it? (besides better gas mileage than my 15mpg i get now haha)