PDA

View Full Version : Dome light with led light problem

pheonix68
09-24-2017, 10:47 PM
Hi everyone.

I'm new to a forum, I'm from Canada and just bought a 2014 fiat 500e.
I was wandering if some of you encounter problem with dome light voltage?.

Without any light I get my 12v but as soon I put a led bulb the voltage drop to around 8 to 6 volt so I don't get the brightness that I should.
I try bulb that say Canbus and worse they don't light up.
I try the dimming but it say not available

Thanks and have a good day everyone.

forby
09-24-2017, 11:46 PM
Led Bulb? Is it OEM or something you bought on the internet. LED bulbs need a resistor to replace regular bulbs.

rkw
09-25-2017, 12:09 AM
Without any light I get my 12v but as soon I put a led bulb the voltage drop to around 8 to 6 voltI don't understand what you are trying to say. Please rephrase with a clear description of exactly what you did.

I installed LED bulbs in my dome light and have no issues.

LED bulbs need a resistor to replace regular bulbs.That's only true for exterior bulbs, and it would still work with no resistor, just that the dash would display a bulb out warning.

pheonix68
09-25-2017, 12:23 AM
When I bought the car they was led bulb in the dome light but it was really dark, so I got other led bulb, I check the voltage at the connector without bulb and the voltage was 12v but as soon that I put a led bulb the voltage at the connector drop and the bulb is not on.

mattjk
09-25-2017, 01:39 AM
http://www.fiat500usaforum.com/showthread.php?26192-Found-the-perfect-sized-LED-panel-for-the-500

forby
09-25-2017, 02:03 AM
When I bought the car they was led bulb in the dome light but it was really dark, so I got other led bulb, I check the voltage at the connector without bulb and the voltage was 12v but as soon that I put a led bulb the voltage at the connector drop and the bulb is not on.
sounds like you bought a bulb with the wrong voltage. It's eating up the power.

pheonix68
09-25-2017, 02:05 AM