PDA

View Full Version : 3D nav issues, sun visor detached itself, loud dash rattle. Augh help!



HeatherD
03-26-2016, 08:25 PM
Hi everyone! Frustrated with a few 500x issues today, hoping someone on here can provide some insight on some things.

This one should be simple but somehow isn't: When I got Meatball I noticed 2D and 3D navigation looked identical. I called uconnect and they said they should look nothing alike and I should notice a huge difference with the 3D. So I took her to the dealership & they gave her that uconnect update & said it should work now. Got it home, it didn't work (was also freezing up while using Nav & SiriusXM at the same time). Took it back to the dealership & they said the radio must be fried & they'd need to order a new one. So they did, took it back a 3rd time once that came in a couple of weeks later and they replaced it & said it was working. Before picking it up I even had them check to make sure 3D nav was working & they said it was. Got in my car & the nav screen looked exactly the same to me so I thought ok maybe I need to drive around a bit & it will download the map and update with 3d or something. The dealership is downtown LA, which is an area I KNOW should look different on 3D nav. After about 5 minutes a few buildings popped up on one side of the screen (but not the other) then they went away and since then it has remained looking exactly like 2D nav. I waited a week to make sure, and nothing. Rivers, parks, baseball stadiums, everything looks exactly the same on both 2D and 3D. Have you seen the photos of 3D nav on the uconnect site? They certainly look nothing like this. Here is a photo of 2D Nav as well as one with 3D nav in my car. If any of you have a 3D nav that looks different (or as advertised) can you please post a photo in comments so I can show my dealership how it should look as they seemingly don't know:

Here's my 2D
http://www.fiat500usaforum.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=21414&stc=1

And my 3D:

http://www.fiat500usaforum.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=21416&stc=1

Here's another fun issue that happened today. I've had a really loud dash rattle for about 2 weeks now. Dealership said they didn't hear it on a test drive so I told them I'd take a video for them (we'll get to that below) so today I turn my music down to take the video and I also hear a new rattle. Seemed to be coming from the passenger side roof. I pulled over to look and turns out the sun visor has detached itself, coming completely unscrewed from the top of the car and is now just bouncing around on every bump. I can't figure out a way to get it back in myself so I guess this is yet another trip to the dealership:

http://www.fiat500usaforum.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=21415&stc=1

And here's a video of the dash rattle (https://youtu.be/YATtupq1tlU). I'm only going about 25MPH and it gets louder the faster I go so you can imagine. I didn't want to take a video while driving 70MPH so this is what we have for now. It's maddeningly loud. A/C was on pretty high so it's a little muffled but you get the jist. I have poked and prodded and pushed on everything in this area trying to find the source and nothing helps. Ugh you guys, 1,800 miles on this car and I don't feel like it should have any of these problems already. What will it be like with 30k miles?


https://youtu.be/YATtupq1tlU

HeatherD
03-27-2016, 01:47 AM
Also I want to say I know these seem like little issues, but living in a large metro area getting in and out of the overbooked dealership is a 2-3 hour commitment all-in. So looking now at taking yet another half day off for trip #5 to the dealership in 3 months, signing the paperwork & driving a gross loaner car for another 3 days (they keep giving me giant ugly Chryslers to drive), all for little things that seem like they should be working properly to begin with in a brand new car . . . . I want so badly to love this car if I could drive it for a whole week without some new thing popping up.

datasage
03-27-2016, 02:09 AM
To see a difference between 2d and 3d mode, you need to be in an area that has 3d buildings and zoomed in enough to see them. Otherwise there is no difference.

The visor is easy to fix. The plastic part will snap open allowing you to access the screw. Once you screw it back in, just close the plastic piece and it will be good to go.

Xtreme500
03-27-2016, 07:56 AM
Heather do you think some of these odd issues stemmed from the car accident?

datasage
03-27-2016, 01:49 PM
I had the visor clamp come loose after about 7000 miles. Its really easy to put back into place though. The plastic part can snap open allowing you access the screw. One side has a join that holds the entire piece together. The other sides just snap in place.

DeSoulo
03-27-2016, 02:31 PM
The change from 2d to 3d looks like the view on my iPhone; Very subtle and at a slight angle. As Datasage stated, I guess you have to zoom in to get the buildings.

TheGonz
03-27-2016, 03:39 PM
I had a dash rattle in mine. What you should do is find a nice empty stretch of road where you can get the rattle to happen, then place your hand on the part of the dash where you think it is coming from and apply a bit of pressure. If the rattle stops, that's the place the rattle is coming from.

That way, you can tell the dealer where the rattle is coming from and insist they fix it.

Or you may be able to fix it yourself. On mine, I found the rattle to be coming from the center vent assembly under the touchscreen. When I put my hand on the vent and put just a small amount of pressure, the rattle was gone.

I took a piece of paper, maybe 3 inches square, folded it about 4 times and made a little paper wedge. Then I used a soft rubber kitchen spatula to jam it down in the gap between the top of the vent assembly and the main dashboard.

No more rattle.

It sounds like the visor thing is an easy fix according to the others. You can try taking off the cap and redoing the screw yourself. If you want, you could go to an auto parts store and get a bottle of purple Loctite and put that on the screw before screwing it in. The Loctite will help make sure the screw doesn't back out again.

Use purple Loctite though: blue would make it harder to take out again if need be, and red would make it nearly impossible. Purple is the low strength version, and should be fine for that application.

I have no ideas about your navigation issues, sorry. If they've replaced the head unit, then I would make sure that the one they put in there has the latest software and maps loaded. You can update the software yourself with a thumb drive. There are instructions on the UConnect website. You can maybe do the maps yourself, too, I'm not sure.

One question: did the dash rattle start after they replaced the head unit? If so, it may mean when they did that, they didn't tighten something appropriately when they put the dash back together.

HeatherD
03-27-2016, 05:19 PM
Thanks so much everyone! I was able to get the plastic visor clamp holding the screw apart so I could fix that this morning so that's good. I'm pretty sure I've narrowed the rattle down to the glossy trim over the steering wheel and framing the instrument panel, but it seems to be happening in multiple places surrounding the instrument panel - actually I can move the top bump part (highest part over the middle in front of driver) around about a quarter of an inch up and down, seems like it should be more secure than that? So maybe that whole part is a little loose?

I drove around today to see what Dodger's Stadium would look like on 3D nav & took her downtown as well. Downtown was a mixed bag, some of the blocks had no 3D when the ones before them and after them did have 3D. In a lot of areas I had opaque 3D to the right of the screen and transparent 3D on the left, so I thought maybe only what is on the right comes through in 3D but then I took a right turn and everything was 3D. Then 4 blocks later everything went flat again, then as I was leaving downtown everything went 3D again. I passed by places on my way out that hadn't been 3D on my way in but were in 3D coming from the other direction. When I say 3D I think I really mean 2D as only the center of downtown LA was true 3D, the rest I could get to show up as I was leaving were just blocks on top of the flat map. Images below:

This was when it went flat again after it had been 3D. I hadn't left downtown, just turned a corner.
http://www.fiat500usaforum.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=21470&stc=1

Here it was a few minutes later, back in 3D:
http://www.fiat500usaforum.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=21471&stc=1

Leaving downtown:
http://www.fiat500usaforum.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=21472&stc=1

And this is approaching Dodger's Stadium about a mile away. I went here specifically because it says it has 3D landmarks & I wanted to see what the stadium would look like in 3D. Looks like flat nothingness?
http://www.fiat500usaforum.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=21473&stc=1

Here's a photo of a stadium on a similar uconnect unit (I realize these are different models than ours but this is a drastic difference):
http://www.fiat500usaforum.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=21474&stc=1

So are my photos of downtown where the 3D was working similar to what you guys see on yours? And is it normal for it to come and go by the block in a downtown area? I would consider most of Los Angeles a major metropolitan area so it's a little weird to me that it only turns 3D specifically in the middle of downtown. It is what it is if that's the case, I just wanted to make sure this isn't something I need to have them look at again.

datasage
03-27-2016, 06:24 PM
Look at the scale on your last shot. your earlier pictures were at 25 ft, your last picture was 150 ft.

HeatherD
03-27-2016, 06:40 PM
Look at the scale on your last shot. your earlier pictures were at 25 ft, your last picture was 150 ft.

Yes but 3D landmarks are supposed to be visible at 250ft and below, so it should still be visible at 150. Here's the shot approaching it at 25ft before I zoomed out:

http://www.fiat500usaforum.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=21476&stc=1

HeatherD
03-27-2016, 07:02 PM
All I'm saying is I'm confused as a lot of the photos both uconnect and Fiat use to advertise this system look like this:

http://www.fiat500usaforum.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=21477&stc=1

And I'm wondering if everyone else on here is seeing something closer to that when they're in a metro area, or is there something wrong with my nav unit? It doesn't really get much more metropolitan than downtown Los Angeles or any more landmark than Dodger Stadium so where do I need to be to make this thing look like the photo they advertise? I should also mention I pulled over and tried every other setting (including Dodge, Chrysler, Jeep, etc) and toggled from 2D to 3D etc.

datasage
03-28-2016, 09:28 AM
Unfortunately that marketing photo is simulated. You can't take a picture of a screen directly with a Moiré effect. So what they will do is composite a screenshot into the image after the photo is taken. You can also see that the header and footer bar is missing.

HeatherD
03-28-2016, 01:43 PM
Unfortunately that marketing photo is simulated. You can't take a picture of a screen directly with a Moiré effect. So what they will do is composite a screenshot into the image after the photo is taken. You can also see that the header and footer bar is missing.

I totally understand that, but I'm pretty sure they legally wouldn't be able to advertise it simulated or not if it wasn't a representation of what you would actually get in the product. I'm in real estate and we can legally photoshop a fire into the fireplace, but only if it actually works as a fireplace if you get my drift. So my question to everyone on here is does anyone's 3D nav look anything like the photos they advertise or does everyone's look like mine?

datasage
03-28-2016, 01:52 PM
I totally understand that, but I'm pretty sure they legally wouldn't be able to advertise it simulated or not if it wasn't a representation of what you would actually get in the product. I'm in real estate and we can legally photoshop a fire into the fireplace, but only if it actually works as a fireplace if you get my drift. So my question to everyone on here is does anyone's 3D nav look anything like the photos they advertise or does everyone's look like mine?

Usually they put some sort of message where you found the picture to the effect of "screen images simulated".

Fiat500USA
03-28-2016, 02:23 PM
I think it depends on the location. I don't think every city has that feature available.

Fiat500USA
03-28-2016, 02:31 PM
What uConnect system do you have? There are updates on the uConnect website for some.

https://www.driveuconnect.com/software-update/

Here is how to update the system: Fiat 500X Uconnect Software Update (http://www.fiat500usa.com/2015/09/fiat-500x-uconnect-software-update.html)

HeatherD
03-28-2016, 02:52 PM
What uConnect system do you have? There are updates on the uConnect website for some.

https://www.driveuconnect.com/software-update/

Here is how to update the system: Fiat 500X Uconnect Software Update (http://www.fiat500usa.com/2015/09/fiat-500x-uconnect-software-update.html)

I have the latest version (checked on the site) and the dealership replaced it with a brand new radio unit 2 weeks ago so it's not that. I understand it's not available in all areas, but if downtown Los Angeles isn't considered a big enough market for it to be available, then where is it available?

HeatherD
03-30-2016, 11:36 AM
Fiat customer service said they'd give me a call in the next couple of days about this, will update.

HeatherD
03-31-2016, 09:52 PM
Fiat called me & they were basically like it looks different everywhere, it depends on where Garmin has updated the maps & what they include in your area. They told me to call Garmin & they gave me the number but not sure if I feel like calling them would matter so I probably won't. Fiat said Garmin updates the maps about once a year and that update is separate from the Uconnect updates we get and to search for map updates at: http://www.here.com/ but that there aren't currently any new updates. I went to the site & I don't see where on that site I would update a map for my navigation unit, it looks like it's just a website for mapping. So whatever, I'm over it for now . . .

Tweak
04-01-2016, 10:41 PM
Fiat called me & they were basically like it looks different everywhere, it depends on where Garmin has updated the maps & what they include in your area. They told me to call Garmin & they gave me the number but not sure if I feel like calling them would matter so I probably won't. Fiat said Garmin updates the maps about once a year and that update is separate from the Uconnect updates we get and to search for map updates at: http://www.here.com/ but that there aren't currently any new updates. I went to the site & I don't see where on that site I would update a map for my navigation unit, it looks like it's just a website for mapping. So whatever, I'm over it for now . . .

The only thing I see relates to a PDF document, interesting site though... https://company.here.com/automotive/automotive-services/downloads/