PDA

View Full Version : Is it time to change my OEM brakes and rotors?

Brokernum1
12-20-2015, 12:57 AM
Hi everyone,

I own a 2012 abarth with 27,000 miles.
About a week ago I started to hear a grinding noise when attempting to stop from a relatively slow speed. I think it's coming from my brakes but I'm no expert. So I decided to post some pictures of the rotors for feedback from this wonderful community. This is obviously an issue I need to address immediately so your urgent help is greatly appreciated.

SeaDawg
12-20-2015, 01:38 PM
To really see whether you need new brake pads, you need to look at the BRAKE PADS, not the rotors. The one rotor looks like there may be some debris lodged between the caliper/pad and the rotor which is causing the noise as well as that wide groove in the rotor, other than that your rotors look pretty good to me. I would suggest putting it on a lift and pulling the wheels so you can get a good look at the pads and calipers.

Brokernum1
12-20-2015, 05:41 PM
Ok I will look into it thanks.

Megalomaniacal
12-21-2015, 10:34 AM
When your brakes are cold,

run your fingernail across those grooves in the rotors, if they are deep enough to catch your nail, you will need to get them resurfaced or (turned) it is not expensive to do, also as stated, check your pads for damage, cracks, and glazing. maybe time to upgrade from OEM to something a little more robust

Brokernum1
12-21-2015, 11:59 PM
Any recommendations for good but not too expensive rotors and pads that work well with the abarth?

Megalomaniacal
12-22-2015, 10:12 AM
OEM blank rotors are fine, you won't see the limit of them with street applications

pads you can go with hawk hp+, or EBC, anything OEM+

don't go ceramic as you don't need that much of a jump in pads.

boxerbay
12-22-2015, 02:22 PM
rotors look toasted.

R1 rotors are great. Stock rotors are more expensive.

Tweak
12-23-2015, 12:52 AM