PDA

View Full Version : Dyno question?



Xtreme500
11-23-2015, 06:36 PM
So if the day comes the market sells enough performance goods for my car how would I dyno it to measure the power gained. What I mean is would it stay in FWD mode or would it go into AWD when it detects wheel slippage from the dyno? Maybe I would need to test it in AWD.

datasage
11-23-2015, 06:39 PM
Since you can't disable AWD, you need a dyno that is designed to measure performance for AWD.

Xtreme500
11-23-2015, 08:29 PM
I didn't think the AWD was full time.
http://www.fiatusa.com/en/500x/

datasage
11-23-2015, 10:21 PM
I didn't think the AWD was full time.
http://www.fiatusa.com/en/500x/

It isn't, but the software does, depending on certain conditions decide to turn it on or off. Even when its on, it will adjust the power between the front and back.

I presume if you tried to use a dyno for FWD, it will detect the back wheels are not moving and put power to them.

Also, for a sort of launch control feature, if you start with enough throttle power, it will put power to all wheels.