PDA

View Full Version : setting up Trip A / help please

saypat
04-24-2015, 08:37 PM
Hello. I am not good at this stuff. I have read the manual. I am going on a short trip tomorrow and want to measure whatever the trip meter thing measures. Does it calculate MPG? That is what I want to know. I will be combining Sport Mode and non Sport Mode driving. According to the manual, just hold put the EVIC on Trip A, and hold down the button on the right lever for a second? That resets it? Is that all there is to it? Do I need to do anything at the end of my trip? Is all the info presented on the speedo display (constantly updated)? Appreciate a nod here from someone who uses this all the time. Hoping to get at least 30 mpg.

many thanks.... this Forum is amazing! I'm here constantly. So appreciative of all the helpful/knowledgeable peeps.

patrick

SeaDawg
04-24-2015, 09:05 PM
Hold the button on the end of the right stalk until the EVIC states something to the effect 'trip A reset'. Then you can select the various things it measures and to ensure it is zeroed out by pressing on the end of the stalk to cause the various things like Avg MPG, Avg Spd, Inst. Spd, etc.. to display for the Trip A set of data. If you hold the button in too long with data collected, it will reset and wipe it out, so beware!

Indelibility
04-24-2015, 09:53 PM
You know the calculated mpg isn't accurate right?

saypat
04-25-2015, 12:33 AM
I'll give it a whirl, thanks SeaDawg. I'll report back when I can. It would be nice if they had a class for all this. I'm sure there are lots of us that don't know what a lot of the things on our cars are for, or can do.

jguerdat
04-25-2015, 08:27 AM
Don't forget that there's also a Trip B so you can use one for a tankful and the other for the whole trip.

SeaDawg
04-25-2015, 09:36 AM