PDA

View Full Version : Brake Fluid Replace Every Two Years

Laz
04-12-2015, 10:42 PM
Hi Everybody. I just bought a Fiat 500L and I was looking at the maintenance and Schedule and it says that we suppose to change the brake fluid every two years or every 20K miles. I wonder what is the reason for this. It is my first time seeing that kind of excessive maintenance on any vehicle that I have owned. Do you guys would know why?

msjulie33
04-13-2015, 12:30 AM
Every car I have owned required or suggested replacing brake fluid in a 2 year interval. The fluid absorbs water from the air and loses effectiveness but more,important water isn't good for brake systems

http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/how-to-change-your-brake-fluid.html :)

mkdragn
04-13-2015, 12:56 AM
Hi Everybody. I just bought a Fiat 500L and I was looking at the maintenance and Schedule and it says that we suppose to change the brake fluid every two years or every 20K miles. I wonder what is the reason for this. It is my first time seeing that kind of excessive maintenance on any vehicle that I have owned. Do you guys would know why?

This is industry standard like msjulie just stated. Also Since working in the auto world, Ive seen my fair share of people who skip doing this; only to see their calipers completely seized and a $1600 bill. Fun stuff indeed

Fiat500USA
04-13-2015, 01:07 AM