PDA

View Full Version : air horn upgrade for 500e



danix
02-26-2015, 02:59 PM
If you've upgraded to an air horn on the 500e (Stebel, Fiamm, Wolo, etc) please post. In particular, I'm curious if people have used a relay, and if so, how you ran a power lead to the battery (edit - I thought the battery was in the trunk, but apparently it's under the hood. If so, this should be a piece of cake).

J.Peterman
02-26-2015, 03:26 PM
I don't have a 500e but have an Abarth where I installed a pair of Hella air trumpets. I used a relay to the battery for direct power (through the relay). I have installed aftermarket horns on 20+ cars & motorcycles over the years so other than figuring out where to place the two trumpets and the compressor, the installation was relatively easy. I don't know squat about the location of your battery (batteries?) or the electrical system on the "E" so if someone who's actually installed on doesn't post in this thread, I would consult with a Fiat specialist at the dealership. Good luck.

danix
02-26-2015, 03:51 PM
Thanks. Having had 20+ cars and motorcycles you should know dealer specialists know squat about this stuff. :)

J.Peterman
02-26-2015, 04:23 PM
Thanks. Having had 20+ cars and motorcycles you should know dealer specialists know squat about this stuff. :)
Ha ha ha ha! In most cases, you would be absolutely, 100% correct.........but in the case of the 500e, they're a different breed of automobile and I would strongly suspect that there may be some caveats re. adding any electrical accessories. Just my two cents (since I've never owned or worked on one, that's all it's worth..........LOL) Hope you find your answer quickly.