PDA

View Full Version : EC Uni Chip in FIAT 500 T (WOW)



Jerseyboy
09-22-2014, 07:20 PM
Just today installed stage 1 EuroCompulsion Uni Chip in my FIAT 500 SPORT TURBO. Like night and day, much smoother and power comes on at about 3000 rpm and stays to 6000rpm+. Most bang for the buck you will probably ever get (and still keep your warranty). JUST AMAZING AND QUICK EASY INSTALL.

Long_John
09-22-2014, 09:01 PM
This is great news! I've been holding off on mods because of the minimal gains on 500T's. Now I can finally start the build

docron
09-22-2014, 09:20 PM
I'm glad I upgraded to an Abarth Stage 2. It's simply unreal that the EC/HPSI 500T tune has more power than the already phenomenal Abarth Stage 1 tune.... :)

204hp/200tq on a bone stock 500T.......are you serious!?!? :)

boostfreak
09-22-2014, 09:48 PM
As it should be. The 500T should be on par with everything the Abarth is power wise.

Nightshift
09-23-2014, 08:25 PM
Ordered one yesterday morning, hope to have it next week.
Is there an 80 mile learning period?

WW-

Jerseyboy
09-23-2014, 08:41 PM
Ordered one yesterday morning, hope to have it next week.
Is there an 80 mile learning period?

WW-
I just ran it easy for about 10 miles to make sure everything was OK, than I let it rip (didn't see anything in the instructions about taking it easy). Really makes the turbo a fun ride.

Gigante
09-23-2014, 08:54 PM
Ordered one yesterday morning, hope to have it next week.
Is there an 80 mile learning period?

WW-

Hey Nightshift, congrats on your EC/HPSI Uni tune - it's amazing how much power they have extracted from the 500T. Just install and drive it as you would normally. The more you push the engine the better it responds. You will be amazed, thus far this puts the 500T in the best bang for your buck, performance wise, with this tune.

Have fun and be safe:)
GIGANTE

Nightshift
09-24-2014, 09:02 AM
Hey Nightshift, congrats on your EC/HPSI Uni tune - it's amazing how much power they have extracted from the 500T. Just install and drive it as you would normally. The more you push the engine the better it responds. You will be amazed, thus far this puts the 500T in the best bang for your buck, performance wise, with this tune.

Have fun and be safe:)
GIGANTE

Going to be fun !
Not that it matters; any hit on mpg's?

WW-

docron
09-24-2014, 09:21 AM
Going to be fun !
Not that it matters; any hit on mpg's?

WW-

For my Stage 2 Unichip tune, I haven't noticed a significant impact on gas mileage for conservative daily driving or long drives. However, when it's play time and you mash on the gas pedal, obviously, you might notice a tiny difference.... ;)

boostin
09-25-2014, 03:58 AM
ah nice! im excited to hear its awesome so far, i only have 3k on the car and im up in the air about getting a tork tune and throw the warranty out the window... but this seems wicked. keep us posted on how the break in feels! also do you have any other mods on the car?

Jerseyboy
09-25-2014, 07:27 AM
ah nice! im excited to hear its awesome so far, i only have 3k on the car and im up in the air about getting a tork tune and throw the warranty out the window... but this seems wicked. keep us posted on how the break in feels! also do you have any other mods on the car?

Only performance mods to my T are EC V-2 intake and EC Uni Chip. My take on the warranty is to pay a little more for the Uni Chip and keep the warranty. Another reason I wanted the Uni Chip is because it can be installed and removed so quick. I plan on taking it off for every oil change. Also, I don't know if a tune will give a stock T any more power than this and if you do get more power wheels tires and suspension should be upgraded (I plan to add rear sway bar as soon as finances permit).

moosestang
09-26-2014, 04:48 PM
Just today installed stage 1 EuroCompulsion Uni Chip in my FIAT 500 SPORT TURBO. Like night and day, much smoother and power comes on at about 3000 rpm and stays to 6000rpm+. Most bang for the buck you will probably ever get (and still keep your warranty). JUST AMAZING AND QUICK EASY INSTALL.

Is it smoother at part throttle than the stock tune? Do you have the stock intake? Part throttle acceleration is my biggest complaint, it's not always smooth.

moosestang
09-26-2014, 05:16 PM
Is this for sale now or still testing?

Jerseyboy
09-26-2014, 07:29 PM
Power is smoother throughout the range. If driven normally it is a normal driver, but step on it at 3000rpm and it goes. EC has the chip available NOW

vinniep
09-27-2014, 11:22 AM
Anyone know what psi the turbo is peaking at??

opiateESP
09-27-2014, 12:04 PM
Only performance mods to my T are EC V-2 intake and EC Uni Chip. My take on the warranty is to pay a little more for the Uni Chip and keep the warranty. Another reason I wanted the Uni Chip is because it can be installed and removed so quick. I plan on taking it off for every oil change. Also, I don't know if a tune will give a stock T any more power than this and if you do get more power wheels tires and suspension should be upgraded (I plan to add rear sway bar as soon as finances permit).

If warranty is a concern, I reckon it's a good call. As far as power goes, the tune has more. The dyno showed base 150 up to 204, the tuned 500T's go from base 135 up to 196. That's an 11% change in baseline numbers. If the dyno's were calibrated the same, that would mean 186 on the Unichip. Pretty respectable but lower than what is made on a tune. Stage 1.5 tune is at about 206/242 which is 20 WHP. Torque is a whole other story.

moosestang
09-28-2014, 08:20 AM
If warranty is a concern, I reckon it's a good call. As far as power goes, the tune has more. The dyno showed base 150 up to 204, the tuned 500T's go from base 135 up to 196. That's an 11% change in baseline numbers. If the dyno's were calibrated the same, that would mean 186 on the Unichip. Pretty respectable but lower than what is made on a tune. Stage 1.5 tune is at about 206/242 which is 20 WHP. Torque is a whole other story.

It's kinda pointless to compare dyno numbers unless they are done on the same dyno, the same day, preferably the same car. Brand new cars can differ by 5-10whp. One car could have been run with a hot motor. I know these engines heat soak fast. I can't even touch my hood when i get home.

boostin
09-28-2014, 12:44 PM
does anyone know/ have dyno results from a uni-chip car on a dyno other than the one uni-chip uses? it would be interesting to see how close the numbers would translate from what uni says they get to what other people are getting on a different dyno. uni-chip says they use a "different" dyno so results will be lower that what others would experience.

not trying to cause any drama, just thought it would be cool to see if or how much of a difference there is :) im sure its close to the numbers opiateESP said.

cy-clone33
09-28-2014, 01:48 PM
NO DRAMA here as well.. but unless you can dyno the same car with the different tunes on the same dyno and control all the variables as much as possible ( humidity etc ) you cant get a fair comparison..WHAT YOU CAN DO is measure the difference from stock to the uni chip ( or tork tune which) ever on the car you are working on

I built kart motors for 20 years and the few that have seen different dynos never repeated what I had on our inertia wheel dyno sometimes better numbers sometimes worse because of all the variables involved

I honestly think that the tunes are similar to the CAI's whichever model you prefer and the dealer you prefer to do business with.. the difference from my EXTREMELY NOVICE viewpoint is the uni chip offers different maps which no body else does currently which to me is a GREAT advantage

moosestang
09-28-2014, 02:54 PM
a dyno is a dyno. Some brands read lower than others, but if they claim they made 54 more hp over their stock dyno, then that same car should make 54 more hp on any dyno, assuming the same conditions. It just might dyno 135 stock and 189 with the uni-chip on a different brand dyno. The 50+hp increase is what matters, assuming it really gains that much, which i don't see why it wouldn't since it's all ready detuned compared to the abarth.

moosestang
09-28-2014, 03:07 PM
Do you have the boost leak fix installed?

cy-clone33
09-28-2014, 03:35 PM
Do you have the boost leak fix installed?

who are you asking sir ?

vinniep
09-28-2014, 04:36 PM
Boost psi ...anyone know what they are peaking and holding at.

moosestang
09-28-2014, 05:36 PM
who are you asking sir ?

I was asking jerseyboy.

cy-clone33
09-28-2014, 05:38 PM
OK sorry LOL

Jerseyboy
09-28-2014, 06:50 PM
Do you have the boost leak fix installed?

Hate to seem stupid, but what is boost leak fix?

As for the Dyno #'s, seems to me that their dyno readings are on the numbers. COMPARE THE STOCK ABARTH CLAIMED HP AND TORQUE WITH THE READINGS ON THEIR DYNO. THAN LOOK AT THE CLAIMED HP AND TORQUE FOR THE T WITH THEIR DYNO #'S, I'M GUESSING IT IS UNDER RATED BY FIAT ON PURPOSE!!!

Jerseyboy
09-28-2014, 06:53 PM
Another thing to keep in mind is that this is just the EC Uni Chip STAGE ONE. They can still get more out of it.

moosestang
09-28-2014, 08:05 PM
Hate to seem stupid, but what is boost leak fix?

As for the Dyno #'s, seems to me that their dyno readings are on the numbers. COMPARE THE STOCK ABARTH CLAIMED HP AND TORQUE WITH THE READINGS ON THEIR DYNO. THAN LOOK AT THE CLAIMED HP AND TORQUE FOR THE T WITH THEIR DYNO #'S, I'M GUESSING IT IS UNDER RATED BY FIAT ON PURPOSE!!!

http://www.fiat500usaforum.com/showthread.php?10140-How-To-Evaporative-Re-Route-and-Boost-Leak-Fix

There's a factory designed boost leak that is supposed to help purge fuel vapors from the charcoal canister under boost conditions.

moosestang
09-29-2014, 02:11 PM
Boost psi ...anyone know what they are peaking and holding at.

I ordered one, should be here next week sometime. I'll measure the boost using that ipod app. Previously the most I've seen in the T is just over 15psi.

FTY
09-29-2014, 03:11 PM
I ordered one, should be here next week sometime. I'll measure the boost using that ipod app. Previously the most I've seen in the T is just over 15psi.

It will not read correctly, since you are still reading requested boost from the ECU. You need and actual boost gauge.

moosestang
09-29-2014, 04:10 PM
It will not read correctly, since you are still reading requested boost from the ECU. You need and actual boost gauge.

I was under the impression that the dash command app is reading directly from the map sensor and calculating boost from that reading. Even if it displays requested boost, I should be able to datalog the map sensor readings and figure out the boost pressure. I thought the ECU requests torque, not boost. It also displays vacuum, which the ECU is not requesting.

If there were any good mounts for the 500T, I'd have added a manual boost gauge all ready.

opiateESP
09-29-2014, 05:34 PM
I was under the impression that the dash command app is reading directly from the map sensor and calculating boost from that reading. Even if it displays requested boost, I should be able to datalog the map sensor readings and figure out the boost pressure. I thought the ECU requests torque, not boost. It also displays vacuum, which the ECU is not requesting.

If there were any good mounts for the 500T, I'd have added a manual boost gauge all ready.

I just drilled in and mounted mine where the euro RHD Abarth has it's boost gauge. I prefer it to the side mount on the Abarth. Eventually, I'll pick up the Abarth RHD OEM unit and fit a mechanical into it.

FTY
09-29-2014, 06:22 PM
http://www.eurocompulsion.net/500TDEFI.jpg

http://www.eurocompulsion.net/500TDEFI1.jpg


I was under the impression that the dash command app is reading directly from the map sensor and calculating boost from that reading. Even if it displays requested boost, I should be able to datalog the map sensor readings and figure out the boost pressure. I thought the ECU requests torque, not boost. It also displays vacuum, which the ECU is not requesting.

If there were any good mounts for the 500T, I'd have added a manual boost gauge all ready.

It is inaccurate with the Uni-Chip installed as the ECU is kept in the dark about the actual values along some sensor parameters. The stock gauge in the Abarth only shows requested boost not actual.

opiateESP
09-29-2014, 06:31 PM
http://www.eurocompulsion.net/500TDEFI.jpg

http://www.eurocompulsion.net/500TDEFI1.jpg



This is a nice solution

Nightshift
09-30-2014, 08:17 AM
The Uni-Chip was delivered and installed yesterday; the install process was maybe 15 minutes. The only issue I had was the harness plugs on the Uni-Chip were locked down so tight it took some real effort to unlock them.
Didn't drive the car until my commute this morning and Holey Sh!t!!!
What a morning commute!!! The power across the board is much smoother and stronger than stock, the minor stock surging (boost leak?) is non-existent.
Morning commute of 7 miles was both spirited and conservative.
The only future mods are an V3(?) intake, the Vogtland springs which I have but not installed, and a rear sway bar.
The little box definitely woke the car up, one of the best mods for the $$$.

WW-:cool:

moosestang
09-30-2014, 08:32 AM
The Uni-Chip was delivered and installed yesterday; the install process was maybe 15 minutes. The only issue I had was the harness plugs on the Uni-Chip were locked down so tight it took some real effort to unlock them.
Didn't drive the car until my commute this morning and Holey Sh!t!!!
What a morning commute!!! The power across the board is much smoother and stronger than stock, the minor stock surging (boost leak?) is non-existent.
Morning commute of 7 miles was both spirited and conservative.
The only future mods are an V3(?) intake, the Vogtland springs which I have but not installed, and a rear sway bar.
The little box definitely woke the car up, one of the best mods for the $$$.

WW-:cool:

I have the boost leak reroute done and I still get some surging at part throttle, especially in 2nd gear, so it's not because of the boost leak. My guess would be it's an emissions thing. My motorcycle had the same issue until I had it tuned.

docron
09-30-2014, 08:36 AM
The Uni-Chip was delivered and installed yesterday; the install process was maybe 15 minutes. The only issue I had was the harness plugs on the Uni-Chip were locked down so tight it took some real effort to unlock them.
Didn't drive the car until my commute this morning and Holey Sh!t!!!
What a morning commute!!! The power across the board is much smoother and stronger than stock, the minor stock surging (boost leak?) is non-existent.
Morning commute of 7 miles was both spirited and conservative.
The only future mods are an V3(?) intake, the Vogtland springs which I have but not installed, and a rear sway bar.
The little box definitely woke the car up, one of the best mods for the $$$.

WW-:cool:

Welcome to the club....wait til after your break-in period, it will waken up even more! :D

Yes, the plugs are very tight, I hope you looked at my DIY guide on the EC website for some helpful tips.... :)

-ron

moosestang
09-30-2014, 09:34 AM
So no need to change to a colder spark plug with the unichip?

docron
09-30-2014, 10:04 AM
So no need to change to a colder spark plug with the unichip?


just proper gapping of plug.....

Nightshift
09-30-2014, 12:16 PM
Welcome to the club....wait til after your break-in period, it will waken up even more! :D

Yes, the plugs are very tight, I hope you looked at my DIY guide on the EC website for some helpful tips.... :)

-ron

How log is the break-in period?
I missed the DIY on the EC website, did watch the video a few times.
Is it me or does anybody get the impression the video is set to porn music??? sillylol

WW-

Purgatory
10-01-2014, 02:33 AM
How log is the break-in period?
I missed the DIY on the EC website, did watch the video a few times.
Is it me or does anybody get the impression the video is set to porn music??? sillylol

WW-

The Uni-Chip is Abarth porn, so the music is perfect, lol. My Abarth is my car whore, and she's a great one, does what even I want, when ever I want, what more could a guy ask for .

FTY
10-01-2014, 04:38 PM
How log is the break-in period?
I missed the DIY on the EC website, did watch the video a few times.
Is it me or does anybody get the impression the video is set to porn music??? sillylol

WW-

Some say he has hands of magic....

http://nzblokes.co.nz/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/keacSA2.gif

moosestang
10-01-2014, 07:34 PM
just proper gapping of plug.....

Do the stock plugs need to be regapped?

Nightshift
10-01-2014, 07:43 PM
Some say he has hands of magic....

http://nzblokes.co.nz/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/keacSA2.gif

I sensed some passion going on in the vid... lol

WW-

Crossfirecat
10-01-2014, 08:22 PM
Do the stock plugs need to be regapped?

They shouldn't but it won't hurt to check to make sure they are all at .024

moosestang
10-04-2014, 08:05 AM
Does anyone with the unichip have a afr gauge? It's hard to tell exactly, but the dyno charts on EC website look like it runs in the 13's for most of the midrange. That seems awfully lean for the amount of boost/load.

iwslm88
04-12-2015, 08:43 PM
Just today installed stage 1 EuroCompulsion Uni Chip in my FIAT 500 SPORT TURBO. Like night and day, much smoother and power comes on at about 3000 rpm and stays to 6000rpm+. Most bang for the buck you will probably ever get (and still keep your warranty). JUST AMAZING AND QUICK EASY INSTALL.

Hey guys,

I just bought a 2013 Fiat 500T and I'm looking at possible mods to bring the performance up near Abarth levels. This chip you guys are talking about intrigues me but I'm having some confusion and I'm hoping you guys can clear this up for me.

First of all, when I googled Unichip I found a website for a unichip.us and they have a chip for a 500 Abarth. Mine is not the Abarth, so I'm unsure if this product will work with my vehicle. This one sells for $595 on the website.

Secondly, when I google EuroCompulsion I get what seems like a completely different company, eurosompulsion.net? They have an ECU Tuner but they do not call it a Unichip. This one sells for $845 on the website. Again, this one is for the Abarth.

I'm confused because Unichip and EuroCompulsion seem to be two different companies. Can anybody clear this up for me? Also, is one better than the other? I have a warranty on the car which I would like to keep valid, but I just want a bit extra from the car.

Thanks for any help. I know this thread is pretty old but I only just purchased my car a month ago.

J.Peterman
04-12-2015, 09:05 PM
Eurocompulsion used to be the authorized distributor for the Unichip (for Fiats in the USA). They developed their own flash tuner and no longer sell the Unichip.
Unichip USA has taken over their own distribution to the retail market. I have one of their (Unichip USA) newest units but I don't know if it also works on your model.
Here's the contact page for Unichip USA: http://www.unichip.us/contact
Send them an email and they'll get back to you shortly.

iwslm88
04-13-2015, 06:47 PM
Eurocompulsion used to be the authorized distributor for the Unichip (for Fiats in the USA). They developed their own flash tuner and no longer sell the Unichip.
Unichip USA has taken over their own distribution to the retail market. I have one of their (Unichip USA) newest units but I don't know if it also works on your model.
Here's the contact page for Unichip USA: http://www.unichip.us/contact
Send them an email and they'll get back to you shortly.


Thanks