PDA

View Full Version : inconsistant boost



cy-clone33
08-05-2014, 03:42 PM
Im having an issue with my boost being speratic,( IN 2nd GEAR ), just recently got the torque app ( I have a 500T and thus no boost gage ) and noticed that in 2nd gear the car would boost up to 12 then drop quickly to 4 or 8

Then the next time it will boost to 16 then drop, then on another time it did what I expected it to do boost climbed to 20 and held there thru the gears up thru 4th,, when this happened it was immediately noticeable when the car continued to pull in the lower gears

I checked everything for leaks and can find none,, any suggestions ?

Alec
08-05-2014, 07:08 PM
The problem with using the Torque app (just like the factory Abarth boost gauge) is that reading is commanded boost by the computer, not actual boost pressure. The computer is going to constantly adjust how much boost it wants yet the actual boost pressure will be consistent. My factory boost gauge would bounce around, but my ATM gauge reads steady.

cy-clone33
08-05-2014, 07:26 PM
I don't find that to match the result, the time that the boost climbed it was very apparent, when the boost would drop to 6 it was very apparent, all these were under full throttle, I did the test from a stop and shifted at 5000 rpm each test,, when the boost would read 5 or 8 etc you could easily feel it in the accelleration

Bomiz
08-05-2014, 08:18 PM
I thought this was a normal thing for the abarth? Sometimes i'll have random boost cutoffs and it'll come right back lol.

musicsurf
08-05-2014, 08:34 PM
I don't know about the Torque app, but Dashcommand extrapolates boost from the MAP reading which there is an actual reading for. Did you actually do a boost leak test or just visually inspect the lines? I would check the hose going to the wastegate actuator, on both ends. It sounds kind of like your overboosting and a crack in that hose could cause it.

cy-clone33
08-05-2014, 09:04 PM
thank you, I will check that

Abarth Five O
08-06-2014, 02:27 AM
I would double check all SM inter cooler piping for potential leak points. You should consider upgrading to the ATM FMIC down the road.

opiateESP
08-06-2014, 04:19 AM
This is with ESC off?

trevc
08-06-2014, 10:47 AM
.

cy-clone33
08-06-2014, 06:04 PM
opiateESP is the winner, I was not aware that boost was tied into the ESC, turned it off and 20/22 lbs everytime.. SO thank you and YES IM AN IDIOT

opiateESP
08-06-2014, 06:05 PM
opiateESP is the winner, I was not aware that boost was tied into the ESC, turned it off and 20/22 lbs everytime.. SO thank you and YES IM AN IDIOT

Glad it's sorted :D

zyxelenator
08-06-2014, 06:13 PM
This is with ESC off?

I was always wondering can you fully turn off ESC on 500T like on Abarth? it never seemed to work for me.

cy-clone33
08-06-2014, 06:19 PM
No it doesn't turn off completely ( sure wish it did ) But I talked to John and its all tied together in the programming, I was testing it with the sport button on and then just running up to 60mph in second ( no speeding tickets that way ) didn't push the ESC because I wasn't driving with hard take offs, just running 1st gear to 5000rpm and shifting into second and backing off at 60mph etc. Just finally got the torque app and trying to learn what you guys already know

Fun but aggrevating