PDA

View Full Version : Audio volumes via USB

Thad
01-28-2014, 03:05 PM
It's almost three years that I have owned my 500 and I've finally figured one thing out that always bugged me.
When playing music back from either a USB drive or my Iphone via the USB connection, The audio level was significantly low. By low, I mean if the radio or CD was normally set to say, 15, I would need to set the volume to 35 when playing USB. I have found that files saved to USB or iPhone as .WAV will play at a low level. If files are .MP3, they play at an appropriate level similar to other sources such as CD or Radio.
I am an audio engineer by trade and can not stand listening to .MP3 files(don't get me started on how bad Sirrus audio quality is). Wav files are what I prefer to listen to. So, I don't know how to fix this situation but I finally found a cause to the problem I have.

shadowshaggy
01-28-2014, 03:09 PM
Well, as an audio engineer you ought to know that if you "record" the files are a lower volume - as most .WAV files I've run across then yeah you'll have a volume issue. .MP3's are usually quite loud in comparison. Not to be a tool, but just wanted to point that out. Use an audio editor program to re-encode the .WAV files at a louder volume, easy enough fix. You do have to have a proper program to do it with, but there's plenty available.

Friendly advice, previously been there done that.....oops, I grenaded a sub last time........

Thad
01-28-2014, 04:36 PM
But the idea is that I shouldn't need to change audio levels. It's s file transfer to the USB drive. No changes. I have even taken the same WAV files and converted them directly to MP3 and the MP3s are louder. The CD that plays at the proper level 'should' let me play the exact same files directly off a USB at the same level.

shadowshaggy
01-28-2014, 05:11 PM