PDA

View Full Version : Coolant Leak?



jflexe99
11-30-2013, 02:16 PM
Was looking around, was playing with headlights and I move the coolant for more access...saw this, PLUS my coolant level is low...where/what coolant should I get to top it off?

http://i1297.photobucket.com/albums/ag32/Jordon_Flexer/IMG_20131130_130543_zpsac896f6e.jpg (http://s1297.photobucket.com/user/Jordon_Flexer/media/IMG_20131130_130543_zpsac896f6e.jpg.html)

Any worries? Little leak by rubber tube.

FTY
11-30-2013, 02:38 PM
These hoses on the bottom and top of the coolant reservoir leak its a known issue. If you take it to the dealer they will most likely replace the clamps. You can use any long life/pink/orange coolant to top off. I use the pink Audi long life to top off the few times it needed a splash.

jflexe99
11-30-2013, 02:41 PM
Ok thanks, Ill just grab some from Wally world or whatever later.

modular
11-30-2013, 03:33 PM
Upon arriving home from the dealer the day the car was purchased I smelled coolant. Same issue as you. I proceeded to cut off the offending useless clamps and replaced both with good 'ol worm drive clamps and topped the coolant off the Amsoil Dominator Coolant Boost left over from when I had my VRSCR Street Rod. Hasn't dropped since.

jflexe99
11-30-2013, 05:05 PM
Remember what size? 5/8 OD of the tube? I'm thinking 5/8 to inch clamp

modular
11-30-2013, 05:34 PM
Yup, a 5/16"-7/8" clamp will work splendidly.

Example:

http://www.amazon.com/Precision-Brand-Micro-Miniature-Stainless/dp/B001HWGMBG

jflexe99
11-30-2013, 10:43 PM
Anything works? Grabbed this....http://i1297.photobucket.com/albums/ag32/Jordon_Flexer/IMG_20131130_210015_zps787b219f.jpg

Corrnaus
11-30-2013, 11:52 PM
Upon arriving home from the dealer the day the car was purchased I smelled coolant. Same issue as you. I proceeded to cut off the offending useless clamps and replaced both with good 'ol worm drive clamps and topped the coolant off the Amsoil Dominator Coolant Boost left over from when I had my VRSCR Street Rod. Hasn't dropped since.

I also had this coolant leak. I think the culprit is the one time use clamps. Showed the dealer when I was getting an oil change, they just replaced the clamps with the worm clamps and topped it up. That was in the spring. No nothing more crusty stuff on the hoses and fluid level is where it should be

Vaejovis carolinanus aka lowconabarth
12-01-2013, 12:09 AM
I would not use the Prestone, I was told to only use the Oat coolant. You can get it from your studio.

jflexe99
12-01-2013, 12:32 AM
I would not use the Prestone, I was told to only use the Oat coolant. You can get it from your studio.
Anyone else? What coolant can I use. Probably more than what the studio sells....

modular
12-01-2013, 08:35 AM
I know this is a pretty big article but it has a lot of good info in it.

http://www.gates.com/downloads/download_common.cfm?file=MOTORCoolantFeature.pdf&folder=brochure

Tweak
12-01-2013, 10:10 AM
This is who supplies FIAT. https://www.pli-petronas.com/

slowbird
12-24-2013, 07:54 PM
ANyone know if there is a TSB for this coolant leak?

Tweak
12-25-2013, 01:06 AM
ANyone know if there is a TSB for this coolant leak?

http://www.fiat500usaforum.com/showthread.php?7233-Recall-Coolant-Bottle

More specifically: http://www.fiat500usaforum.com/showthread.php?7233-Recall-Coolant-Bottle&p=578749&viewfull=1#post578749

Hope this is helpful.

slowbird
12-25-2013, 11:17 AM
http://www.fiat500usaforum.com/showthread.php?7233-Recall-Coolant-Bottle

More specifically: http://www.fiat500usaforum.com/showthread.php?7233-Recall-Coolant-Bottle&p=578749&viewfull=1#post578749

Hope this is helpful.

Oh! Thanks. I thought was for an issue with the bottle and not the hose clamp issue.

Tweak
12-25-2013, 10:39 PM
Oh! Thanks. I thought was for an issue with the bottle and not the hose clamp issue.

I'm not 100% sure if it applies to your specific issue but hopefully it is what you needed.

slowbird
12-26-2013, 12:29 PM
Thanks Tweak.

FiatOfTysonsTech
01-10-2014, 08:54 PM
feel free to just add some water. that clamp along with the upper radiator hose clamp have been known issues. its best to just cut that one off and replace it with a worm clamp because the way that one is designed isnt all that great, there isnt enough tension to keep it from expanding when the coolant gets hot and the hose expands. so worm clamps are your best bet. and you may say water is dumb, but for that little missing, it wont hurt anything at all and save some money.

sczuylevch13
01-14-2014, 06:58 AM
its best if you are going to add water, to make sure you used distilled water. tap water has minerals that sometimes react with aluminum and cause gas to be formed and it'll almost be like air pockets and affect the performance of your cooling system not to mention corrode the engine from the inside.

meatball
01-14-2014, 09:01 PM
Also experiencing a coolant leak from the bottom hose clamp. Any one know what size hose clamp I need to replace it with.

9252

ophidia31
01-14-2014, 09:09 PM
Also experiencing a coolant leak from the bottom hose clamp. Any one know what size hose clamp I need to replace it with.

9252

The size on the prevous page is too small. I bought that one and one size up when I fixed the clamp on my car. I have an extra one at work that I can post the size tommorrow if they dont get it here tonight.

DougZ
01-14-2014, 11:10 PM
I had coolant leak on top hose on the reservoir. Problem is with the plastic overflow tank. It's made by blow molding process. There is sharp parting line created on surfaces that the hose goes over. It has small sharp raised protrusion along the pipe top and bottom. When Hose fits over it it's hard to get a good seal when system is under pressure. To fix it I did following.

1. Used a utility blade and carefully scraped off the protruding material so the pipe parting line surface is smooth.
2. Cut off the part of the hose that was previously clamped on. You want to clamp on new rubber surface
3. Reuse factory clamp. I have no more leaks there.

meatball
01-15-2014, 07:53 AM
The size on the prevous page is too small. I bought that one and one size up when I fixed the clamp on my car. I have an extra one at work that I can post the size tommorrow if they dont get it here tonight.

Thanks would appreciate it.

ophidia31
01-15-2014, 11:23 AM
The hose clamp size I used was a 9/16" - 1 1/16"

meatball
01-15-2014, 01:49 PM
Awesome. Thanks.

markbone1
02-17-2016, 08:48 AM
By doing that did it void your warranty? How have things been since then? I see this post was written 3 years ago.

Thanks!

CashMan
02-18-2016, 12:12 PM
Just went in for my leak. Its a bad tank, service ordering a new one. Must be a problem because they are back ordered 3 weeks.

m3racer
03-11-2016, 09:56 AM
I just took my car in for a coolant leak. They ended up replacing the radiator and the radiator upper hose. All under warranty and everything is as good as new.

Fiat138Pop
10-30-2017, 01:19 AM
My radiator blew out on my 2012 Pop. I have 35k miles on it. The service department said: "well, it is 5 years old..."??? Doesn't this seem premature for a radiator to fail? Also, others must be experiencing this. I'm heading into week 3 on the part. It's on back order with no fulfillment date. :(

ice445
11-05-2017, 08:37 PM
My radiator blew out on my 2012 Pop. I have 35k miles on it. The service department said: "well, it is 5 years old..."??? Doesn't this seem premature for a radiator to fail? Also, others must be experiencing this. I'm heading into week 3 on the part. It's on back order with no fulfillment date. :(

Bad luck, I haven't heard hardly any cases of that happening

KellyfromVA
11-05-2017, 09:18 PM
Anyone else? What coolant can I use. Probably more than what the studio sells....
OAT pink coolant is available at most auto parts stores. No biggie.