PDA

View Full Version : Mobil 1 for my Abarth?

Abarthone
11-22-2013, 06:52 PM
Hello fellow!
As a mechanic i always use mobil for my car
What do you thing for my Abarth?

ScorpionSkins.com
11-22-2013, 07:01 PM
Hello Abarthone, I believe Mobil 1 synthetic is one of the officially approved oil varieties. When I performed my oil change at the dealership, they used a Mobil 1 filter with Mobil 1 5w40 synthetic.

ABARTH TAMER
11-22-2013, 07:03 PM
Fiat wants you to use 5-40. Many are ordering Pennzoil Euro 5-40 off Amazon, using Shell Rotella syn 5-40 or 0-40 Mobil 1. Have not tried 0-40 so not sure if that viscosity has any ill effects.

ABARTH TAMER
11-22-2013, 07:05 PM
Fiat wants you to use 5-40. Many are ordering Pennzoil Euro 5-40 off Amazon, using Shell Rotella syn 5-40 or 0-40 Mobil 1. Have not tried 0-40 so not sure if that viscosity has any ill effects.

Scorpion Skins says Mobil 1 5-40, so that sounds like an option (not avail at my Walmart).

ScorpionSkins.com
11-22-2013, 07:18 PM
Some more information directly from the Abarth owners manual:

Engine Oil Selection
For best performance and maximum protection for turbocharged
engines under all types of operating conditions,
the manufacturer recommends synthetic engine
oils that are API Certified and meet the requirements of
Chrysler Material Standard MS-10896.

Engine Oil Viscosity (SAE Grade)
SAE 5W-40 full synthetic engine oil is recommended for
all operating temperatures. This engine oil improves low
temperature starting and vehicle fuel economy.
Lubricants which do not have both the engine oil certification
mark and the correct SAE viscosity grade number
should not be used.

I stand corrected. It turns out Mobil 1 doesn't have the MS-10896 certification. Pennzoil Ultra Euro 5w40 does.