PDA

View Full Version : Hmm turbo help

Deffmikey
09-08-2013, 01:53 PM
So I am new to the turbo world, and I have a few questions. Are turbo blankets worth it and what do they do? Also I've seen turbo timers, if I am running a stock abarth should I leave my car run for a little to let things calm down after I've been drivin a while or is it okay to just shut down and go on my way. I want to make this car last as long as possible and I don't want to mess anything up, especially the turbo.

MrFiat
09-08-2013, 03:05 PM
A hundred people will likely chime in on this one, but The Abarth, (and likely the 500T as well), have an after-run turbo coolant pump that comes on automatically when you turn off the motor and runs until the turbo is safely cooled down. So feel free to simply shut the car off whenever you wish. The car will take care of the turbo cooling all by itself. Someone else will have to weigh in on the turbo blanket question as I'm from the screwdriver and carburetor era:wavey:.

Deffmikey
09-08-2013, 03:53 PM
Thank you mrfiat

enginethatcould
09-08-2013, 04:23 PM
I have a turbo blanket. I noticed that the turbo generated a lot of heat under the hood, being able to block some of that seemed beneficial. I purchased a Lava Blanket from 500Madness; works great, a lot cooler under the hood, and the difference is almost instant. I don't notice any performance gains, but I wasn't expecting any. Just a cooler engine compartment.

onederer
09-08-2013, 06:29 PM
I don't think a turbo timer is needed unless you are spending an awful lot of time on boost for extended periods of time, such as at the track or runs through the twisties. And that is only if you do not have time to cruise to a stop after wards. Like a cool down lap.