PDA

View Full Version : First gear grinding/vibrating

GetsThruBuckner
08-31-2013, 02:11 AM
For the first time, this morning I heard a clunck when I started the car. As I pulled off in 1st gear I heard a distinct grinding/vibrating sound. I have tested it somewhat thoroughly and found that it only happens when I first start the car, and at the clutch engagement point in first gear. I have started from a near stop in 2nd gear and heard the same grinding. It doesn't happen once i'm moving into 3rd gear and so on. I made a video just in case some experts might be able to spot something. It's not a great video, but maybe it will help someone familiar with the issue.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zow3wEUWGCY&feature=player_detailpage

MrFiat
08-31-2013, 09:47 AM
Sorry this is happening. Never fun when something is not quite right. Your video is good though as it does offer a couple of alternative possibilities. First, I'm not an expert on such things to be sure, but I do have a thought or two for you to consider.
My first thought was the clutch throw out bearing. It might make such noises if it were not moving back and forth freely or if the bearing itself was developing a problem. (does the clutch pedal feel normal to you)? Can you feel anything abnormal at the pedal when the noise occurs?
My second thought was one of the CV joints may be developing a bearing problem.
Lastly, (hope this is not the case), one of the main bearings in the transmission might be developing a problem. If this is the case, getting it repaired sooner rather than later is your best course of action. A transmission bearing failure will leave you stranded on the side of the road (or worse) as it could lock the trans up without warning.
In either event, It seems like it's time to get the service department to do a warrenty repair or at least a diagnostic session.