PDA

View Full Version : ODBII Noob here, Help me experts

GetsThruBuckner
07-09-2013, 08:07 PM
So I recently ordered an ODBII Bluetooth adapter. I am a complete noob on this, and without even receiving the thing yet, I feel as though i'm already in over my head. I purchased an mini-ELM327 (http://www.ebay.com/itm/300870978320?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649). I was told by several others that this should work just fine. In anticipation of receiving the adapter I purchased an android app from Google play, namely "Torque". In addition to Torque, I purchased a FIAT specific plug-in for Torque that is supposed to offer much more to the ABARTH. Now here is where the trouble starts.

I just recently learned what PIDs were, and now this plug-in has many that I have no clue about. Can some of you inform me on what each of these sensors actually means? Here is the list.

1. Injector Pulse Width
2. VVT Oil Temperature
3. Canister Charge
4. Canister Duty Cycle
5. Current Engine Speed
6. Target Engine Speed
7. Exhaust Gas Temperature
8. Instant Fuel Flow
9. Engine Torque
10. Knock Voltage Cyl 1 (and so on through Cyl 4)
11. Lambda Heater Duty
12. ECU Odometer
13. Cruise Control Target (Kinda think I understand this one)
14. Throttle Body Opening
15. DT1 Calc
16. DT2 Calc

If anyone tell me what these PIDs actully measure, and how they can help me learn to tweak my car, It would be greatly appreciated! beerchug

P.S.- Can I leave this ODBII adapter plugged into the port all the time? or is it good practice to remove it?

Haring
07-09-2013, 09:46 PM
I'd be interested in knowing too. I ended up putting smaller guages on just to see things light up. It'd be nice to know what they all meant :D

dart1.4t
07-09-2013, 10:04 PM