PDA

View Full Version : CCR banning all Fiat 500s

jguerdat
06-26-2013, 02:28 PM
Just to take this out of the previous thread, I thought I'd post my email chain with the Central Carolina Region Solo chair so the whole rationale is known:

My name is Jeff Guerdat, from the Finger Lakes Region. Last night I asked Alan to inquire as to the status of allowing Fiat 500 Abarths at the upcoming joint autocross at zMax since there were a flurry of posts on a forum (http://www.fiat500usaforum.com/showthread.php?10557-Neu-F-Rear-Bar-really-stiff!) about the recent decision to ban Abarths. I have been autocrossing since 1973 and currently own and autocross an Abarth.

This decision seems rather arbitrary based on incidents and photos that have little to no bearing on autocross and one of a kind incidents. This is what Alan sent me from his contact:

I can say ccr, aka mike n I, will not let them participate in our events, autox. They are far too much a risk, especially at zmax. This has been proven by ***** last year at darlington and a video of ***** at cota in world challenge trim.

It seems to me that these are out of context, especially a road racing situation. If the event at zMax even approximates the speeds of track racing, it falls outside of SCCA Solo guidelines:

Section 2.2.A
Courses must be tight enough so that cars run the entire course
in their lower gears. Speeds on straight stretches should not normally
exceed the low 60s (mph) for the fastest Stock, Street Touring,
and Street Prepared category cars.