PDA

View Full Version : Dyno run - Good, Bad or Ugly???

Retroguy
06-10-2013, 10:28 AM
Hello forum.

I'm a newbie to the forum, and a happy new 2013 Gigio Abarth owner. I purchased the Abarth in January, and after reading many posting
on this site and others, I later purchased a Magneti Marelli Piggyback ECU and Power Petal. I also bought a Eurocompulsion short air intake,
some Madness HIDs, a Road Race CF rear spoiler, and a few LED lighting upgrades.

The air intake, MM ECU and PP were all installed at the same time by the dealer. When I got the car back, I was thrilled with the improvement in
power and responsiveness. After reading numerous postings and seeing tons of Dyno charts, I decided to put the car on a Dyno and see what it was doing.

The dyno runs were made at Henderson Performance in New Braunfels Texas, last weekend. Runs were in 4th gear, A/C off,
ECS off, SPORT on, MM setting 2. The dyno was a DYNOJET.

Two runs were made. The second run was made within just a few minutes of the first, and was lower because of something described as "heat soak".
I was surprised to see that although the max torque was up from published Fiat specifications (196.6), the wheel HP was only coming in at 162.8 HP.
The technician who ran the testing said it felt to him like something was holding back the car.

When I drive the car, I'm still impressed with the performance, but I'm wondering if there is something out of whack?

Many here on this forum are much more knowledgeable about such things, so I'd certainly appreciate an opinion or two.
If your vehicle pulled this on a dyno, what would you think?

Thanks for any assistance.

Doug
Austin, Texas

opiateESP
06-10-2013, 11:00 AM
That's a lot to lose from 2 runs due to heat soak. I lost 5 HP from heat soak after 4 runs. Was there a fan infront?